Angels & Demons

Posted on November 14, 2005

6


Today I finished reading Angels & Demons by Dan Brown. It is the prequel to The Da Vinci Code (It was actually written before The Da Vinci Code but the huge popularity of the second book has made the first book popular as well). I read The Da Vinci Code earlier this year and I quite enjoyed it. It was much better than I expected it to be. So I decided to read Angels & Demons to see if Dan Brown’s other books were good too.

AngelsDemons

I was not disappointed. I actually liked Angels & Demons more than The Da Vinci Code. Both books have the same main character and follow the same type of formula, but for some reason this book kept my interest more throughout. It had fewer dull spots and a lot more action.

The book is basically about a scientinst who proves that the Biblical account of the creation could be true by creating something out of nothing. The process of creating matter in his lab also creats something called anti-matter. Anti-matter is very unstable and if it touches matter (and that includes air) it explodes, so it must be kept in vaccuum tubes containg magnets so that it floats in the middle.

Well, someone kills the scientist and steals a sample of the anti-matter. It is then hidden somewhere inside the Vatican. A group called the Illuminati claim resposibility. At this time, the Pope has just died and all of the cardinals are in the Vatican preparing to elect a new Pope. Except for 4 of the cardinals, who the Illuminati have kidnapped. They say they will kill one cardinal every hour from 8:00 till 11:00 and then at midnight, the battery inside the anti-matter vaccuum tube will die and the Vatican will explode.

So Robert Langdon and the daughter of the scientist who created the anti-matter have only a few hours to stop the Illuminati. In order to stop them they must follow hidden clues all across Rome that will eventually lead them to the Illuminati hideout where they might have a chance to stop them from carrying out their plans.

I’m not very good at summarizing, so that probably didn’t entice you to read the book, but I liked it a lot, so I thought I would share.

Posted in: General